Scholastic Art and Writing Awards

MO Writing Region Logo

Hello Missouri Teachers,

The 2019 Scholastic Writing Awards are now open. The Missouri region anticipates more than 1,000 entries from students in grades 7-12. With eleven categories—from flash fiction to critical essay—students can submit writing in the genre of choice. The Scholastic Writing Awards are a national competition, and Gold Key winners from Missouri (and Kansas counties near Kansas City) advance to the next level.

Gold Key, Silver Key, and Honorable Mention awards are distributed in each category, and winners are invited to the annual Scholastic Writing Awards Ceremony at Tan-Tar-A Resort in Osage Beach, MO in February.

How to Enter

For instructions on how to enter for the Missouri Writing Region, visit the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards website. Contact Katie Kline ( if you have any questions about this year's competition or would like some posters sent to your school.

Keep writing!

Katie Kline
Director, Greater Kansas City Writing Project
University of Central Missouri, Extended Studies

Alliance Logo

Important dates

January 4, 2019

Deadline for Missouri Writing Region submissions.

February 1, 2019

Winners will be notified through email.

February 15, 2019

Missouri Writing Region winners and their teachers will be honored at the Write-to-Learn Conference.

Missouri Youth Write award winners

The winning students' writings from the Missouri Writing Region for the national Scholastic Art and Writing Awards contest comprise each edition of Missouri Youth Write, a journal sponsored by the Missouri Association of Teachers of English.


Gold Key Winners Edition

Silver Key Winners Edition

Honorable Mention Winners Edition

List of all winners


Gold Key Winners Edition

Silver Key Winners Edition

Honorable Mention Winners Edition